Toronto Animation Film Festival

The FestivalAbout TAAFISubscribeScheduleFilmsJuryKaj Pindal AwardFAQDiscordAwards

Where: Hot Docs Cinema (506 Bloor St W) & Online

When: April 4-6, 2024

Previous Events:

Toronto Animation Industry Conference

Toronto Animation / VFX Job Fair

Kaj Pindal Award

The Kaj Pindal Animated Person of the Year Award is given in honour to an individual or a group of individuals who make a lasting impression and uplift the world of animation through their work.

Past recipients include namesake Kaj Pindal, Ray Harryhausen, Marv Newland, Dean DeBlois, Blair Kitchen, Gerald Potterton, Domee Shi and Sam Chou.


John Musker - 2024 Recipient

This year we are honored to present the Kaj Pindal Person of the Year award to - John Musker

"John's contributions to the art and storytelling of animation filmmaking are undeniable. But what makes him a truly exemplary recipient of this award is his continuing work as an independent filmmaker on his short "I'm Hip". Even after a staggering and lengthy list of accomplishments, he continues to challenge himself and grow as an artist with the same level of craftsmanship and enthusiasm that shines through all of his work. Most importantly, with kindness, warmth and generosity, he's remained engaged with the larger animation family, and he truly feels like an extended member of our local community. 

We feel fortunate to call you a friend, John, and we're overjoyed to give you this award."

-Spencer Moreland, Director of Programming, TAAFI


Kaj Pindal | 1927-2019

Born and raised in Denmark, animation great Kaj Pindal spent most of his long career in Canada, where he is best known for award winning work ranging from such NFB shorts as What on Earth, to the PBS series based on his most beloved character, Peep. He is also well remembered and deeply missed as a teacher of animation, particularly for his time on faculty at Sheridan where he inspired 100’s of students to, themselves, strive for greatness.


Copyright 2024 © Toronto Animation Arts Festival International (TAAFI)